back to index page
The 4 major groups of muscles in the thigh are: Flexors, extensors, abductors and adductors. The thigh muscles are the largest group of the lower extremity. They can be separated into two parts. The strongest muscle group of the anterior part is quadriceps, they consist of the rectus femoris, vastus intermedius, vastus lateralis and vastus medialis. The main muscle group of the posterior part is the hamstrings; they consist of the biceps femoris, semimembranosus and semitendinosus. Those muscles play a major role in moving and stabilizing the knee joint. The triceps surae consist of gastrocnemius and soleus. Its tendons go along the posterior part of the leg and then form the Achilles tendon at the ankle level. The peroneal muscles go through laterally, they perform the eversion motion.
Quadriceps strain | Tennis leg
Quadriceps strain
The quadriceps muscles, located from hip to knee, consist of vastus medailus, vastus lateralis, vastus intermedius and rectus femoris. These muscles extend the knee and bend the hip. A quadriceps strain is inflammation and pain in the front of the thigh. It is common in sports such as running, jumping and football.

--Trauma : sudden stress on the quadriceps or impact to the quadriceps muscle
--Fatigue : overuse of quadriceps muscle from repetitive activity.
--Exercise : insufficient warm up time or stretching, uneven surfaces and poor skills

--Swelling and warmth over quadriceps muscles
--Muscle spasm or tightness of quadriceps
--Weakness and easy fatigue during strenuous activity

The thigh orthoses provide comfort support,help to ease pain.