back to index page
The 4 major groups of muscles in the thigh are: Flexors, extensors, abductors and adductors. The thigh muscles are the largest group of the lower extremity. They can be separated into two parts. The strongest muscle group of the anterior part is quadriceps, they consist of the rectus femoris, vastus intermedius, vastus lateralis and vastus medialis. The main muscle group of the posterior part is the hamstrings; they consist of the biceps femoris, semimembranosus and semitendinosus. Those muscles play a major role in moving and stabilizing the knee joint. The triceps surae consist of gastrocnemius and soleus. Its tendons go along the posterior part of the leg and then form the Achilles tendon at the ankle level. The peroneal muscles go through laterally, they perform the eversion motion.
Quadriceps strain | Tennis leg
Tennis leg
Tennis leg is a tear or rupture of the Gastrocnemius muscle at the musculotendinous junction, resulting from overuse. It is similar to an Achilles tendon rupture, but occurs higher up in the calf muscle. This injury is common in running sports that require quick acceleration or changes in direction. It usually occurs in people over 40 .

--Trauma : Sudden stress on or impact to the calf muscle
--Fatigue : repetitive use causing microtrauma
--Exercise : insufficient warm ˇVup or stretching before exercise, poor skills, inappropriate environment

--Edema / swelling
--Muscle spasm
--Functional limitation : difficulty walking

The thigh orthoses provide comfort support,help to ease pain.